Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:29 am - 21 May 2004
education, education, education
qualifications. whats that all about? i realised yesterday that i'm the most qualified person at my place of work (btec national diploma in computing. its like the first part of a degree with no debt). not only that, but i'm the lowest paid. the best engineer got the job at 17, and has spent the best part of 10 years there, and is now the highest paid, behind the bosses. i think these bosses just have a-levels.

do you know why the engineer is so well paid and i'm not? experience. he's got it, i don't. and i was thinking, is education really that important? ok, maybe english & maths gcses are important, employers wants someone who can read & preferably count, but i think everything else is down to experience. after i left college it took over 6 months to find a job, because there's so little out there compared to the number of people going for the jobs. when i came to this place, i knew that my college qualification no longer meant anything because IT changes so much that after 6 months what i knew was almost obsolete. any job i go for in future will not be based on my diploma, it will be based on the experience i've gained at this place.

i'm finding that i'm increasingly happier that i failed my gcses because of everything thats gone on since. ok, maybe if i'd've passed them & dont a-levels and a degree life would be different and i'd be happy that way too. but it'd have to be a helluva lot better than it is now because i'm so happy and content with life and my Princess. even though she's mad (leave my ears alone, you nut) i like her more than pizza, chips, Boddingtons, AND pies. all together. maybe thats not a good comparison. but its true.

i've just been playing around with the image upload thing, as you can see on the left. myself and 3 of my idols. here's a thought for the day.

have a nice day.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!