Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:47am - 05 June 2004
transport for london. bollocks.
first day back at work today after being unwell. first thing the boss said to me was "you're going out on site today. all day." there went my plans for turn up, do a bit of work, home by 6.

i had 2 quick local jobs, they were done by 1pm. but my other job was a bit more tricky. it was only a cd-rom change (took 10mins) but it was in west london. near heathrow airport. took 2hrs to get there, which i didnt think was too bad bearing in mind the m25 being, well, the m25. i was there 1hr 15mins pissing about with another pc. when i finished, i told my boss that i'd see him monday, but i didn't know when i'd get home today because the m25 is shit, and a friday is the worstest day to go there. so i took a different route, through london itself and via Princess Inkysoso's yard. this was a problem, it should've taken me 45mins or so but instead took double that. at one point i did 2 miles in half an hour. no skoda jokes please.

at Princess Inkysoso's i was happy. i was with her, its the weekend, home is just half an hour away.

but its not, is it. 10:30pm i left hers. first junction i come to, underpass is closed, slow traffic over the roundabout. took me half hour to get over it. i mean get over it as in pass from one side to the other, not overcome the disappointment it caused. fuck me if the next junction isn't exactly the same. eventually got over that, made my way to the motorway. but it was fucking blocked as well, no way on. so i had to make my way home through deepest darkest essex, areas i've never been to. somehow did it, getting home about midnight. lucky for me i am geographically genial. "hmm. i want to go north. i think i'll turn right, that seems to be north. i'll take the 3rd exit of this roundabout, that looks about right." my pa told me i actually took the best route that wasnt the motorway, so i'm happy with that.

i've noticed today that london smells. Princess Inkysoso tells me its because i was in traffic and there's no wind, but i dont care. london smells of onions. i have to say i was pissed off today, it was humid and hot and i was sweaty (you getting turned on? i should hope not you filthy creature), and the smell just made it worse. today was plenty evidence for me to get air con for my next car, as if i hadn't decided that already after last summer's 8hr journey from cornwall (m25 again. its cursed). i also need a new mp3 cd, there is only so many times you can listen to the same music in one day - i've got 200 bloody songs on that cd. and hearing ac/dc's highway to hell starts to get a little wearing when you're STILL stuck in traffic.

but my dislike of london transport (ha!) isn't the only problem i've had today. the most embarrassing problem today was when i was with Princess Inkysoso doing what we do best (horizontal jogging. making sweet music. fucking. whatever you like to call it.) when her 11yr old sister walked in. jesus of nazareth. its not the first time i dont think. the only people in her household who haven't caught us are her mother and her 19yr old sister. we've been seen by both brothers, little sister, father. yes, father. you know what this means.

we need a lock for that fucking door.

i'm tired. done a lot of travelling today (about 200 miles. not bad for the 20 i expected to do) and i want bed. goodnight.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!