Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:13 pm - 31 August 2004
there is no reeson for treeson
back at work today. big D was on site for a bit so i was on bastard tech support. i can relate to BOFH, man.

y'see, i realised something today. i am the worst person in the world at technical support. it isn't because i'm not very clever or technical (although that is part of the problem), it is because i hate the customers and like seeing people suffer. it will not be a surprise that i think slapstick is fucking brilliant. however i have got a bit of a heart, i don't like unfortunate people suffer, i DO feel sorry for david brent.

my customers don't understand how my mind works at all though. despite what they think, telling me that their company can't function unless i fix their internet problem in 1min over the phone. usually this comes at a time when i've told them i've done all i'm capable of, an engineer needs to phone them. by saying that their company can't function etc they are implying that i am a fuckwit. 2 things go through my mind:

  1. what did you do before you had the internet & email just 5 years ago?
  2. which engineer shall i get to call them tomorrow instead of today?

in this world, you do not benefit from stamping your feet and demanding things now, now, now. you get places by being polite and understanding my situation, my company's situation, and our other customer's situation. needing a bit of cabling done is not as important as the company who have been burgled over the weekend, despite what you think.

just signed up for gmail, the new email service from google. yeah.

this evening i have found a song sort of about me. well it namechecks me. it is by a new young band called Kasabian and it's called Reason is Treason. they spelt Treeson wrong though and my name isn't Reason. but it's the closest since beck sang Loser.

party on wayne. party on garth.

Treeson says guns don't kill people, rappers do. i saw it on a documentary on bbc2.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!